Bass Effect Suggestions for sludge/doom metal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sebif, Jan 11, 2013.

1. sebif

sebif

Hello guys, this is my first time posting on this awesome forum. Although I've been playing bass for 5 years, money has always been tight, so I've yet to graduate from my 10 watt starter amp and never been able to buy any effects pedals, pods, or pedal boards or anything of the like. Fortunately, times have changed and I some money to put toward music equipment. So I come here to ask for some help on my finding my desired tone(s). I'm looking for a really fuzzy and/or distorted tone that is often used in sludge/stoner metal and often hardcore punk. Here are some examples of what I'm talking about.

Thanks in advance. Any and all help is much appreciated! :bassist:

2. boomertech

boomertech Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Designer/Owner of FEA Labs
    Spend a few hours at bassfuzz.com

-Frank

3. nikki271027

nikki271027

4. Low Sound Love

Low Sound Love

So many great fuzz pedals ... You should try as many as you can. If possible, try them in your band setting, because what sounds good on your own might not cut it in the band.

Great Muff-type fuzzes:Earthbound Audio Supercollider, Fuzzrocious Grey Stache, Blackout Effectors Musket Fuzz, Wren and Cuff Tall Font Russian or Pickle Pie B, Earthquaker Devices Hoof Fuzz, Mojo Hand FX Colossus ... or you could hunt down a vintage Electro-Harmonix Big Muff (the green Russian ones generally get most praise from bass players).

Some cool non-muff fuzzes: Malekko B:assmaster, Zvex Woolly Mammoth, Wampler Leviathan, MXR Bass Fuzz Deluxe or El Grande Bass Fuzz.

If fuzz doesn't deliver the sounds you want you might try heavy distortion: EBS MetalDrive or the new Billy Sheehan signature pedal, Wampler Triple Wreck, Fuzzrocious Rat Tail/Rat King ... or you could stack overdrives ... endless possibilities.