1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Bass Guitar Recommendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mmx6, Dec 22, 2012.

1. mmx6

mmx6

Hi
    I recently discovered TalkBass forums and made an account

I am a wanna be bassist who will start beginner lessons right after the New Years.

I am a complete n00b and have no experience with bass guitar or any stringed instruments.

I am looking to purchase my first guitar brand new of course, used guitar might cause problems for a n00b like me.

Anyways I was looking at the Mexico Fender Roadworn 60s Jazz Bass and the Fender 60s Jazz Bass

Are these basses good for a beginner and last for a while?

How is the build quality and general quality of the 2 bass guitars I mentioned that I am considering to purchase new from Guitar Center?

Please let me know

Thanks.

2. mmx6

mmx6

Shameless bump

Anyone?

3. odarellmc

odarellmc Supporting Member

first thing, what are some of your favorite bands, find out what the bassist play and start from there..

4. el basso

el basso Supporting Member

welcome! both of those basses are excellent choices - they're versatile and good quality.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Trayster2

Trayster2 Supporting Member

Sounds like good choices, but you may want to start off with something that costs a little less until you decide whether or not the bass is the instrument for you. A Squier jazz or an Ibanez GSR200 are excellent choices for beginners and give a lot of bang for the buck.

7. TerraBass

TerraBass

I just picked up a Schecter custom p bass, thing sounds great, its my third schecter and by far my favorite. Bought it used from guitar center for 300 which i thought was a great deal and came with a skb hardshell case. If your playing rock/metal genres give this bass a look! Look at guitar centers online used basses, great deals

8. GM60466

GM60466