Bass n00b needs rig for big venues

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by grapes, Feb 19, 2014.

1. grapes

grapes

Hello!

I may be joining a band on bass this summer to play some pretty massive festivals and outdoor gigs. I am a longtime guitarist/guitar nerd, and I have messed around bass but am only now learning about bass gear. I've been snooping around the site, but figured I'd ask for specific help.

Here are the deets:
    -Style of music is synth-pop, a lot of the bass lines were originally written on synthesizer and are played on bass for the live show. I would thus be using copious amounts of bass distortion and octave fuzz. I'm using a P-Bass w/ a pick.

-The band has their own sound guy so this is mostly about having something for the stage. The current dude uses a 2x10 and does just fine.

I want to spend as little money as possible while still sounding professional. Must be roadworthy. I love to buy used. I really can't see spending more than $600 on a cab and a head for the moment. Just wanted to get some ideas so I can start doing some research and craigslist scouring. What should I be looking for?

If you've made it this far, thanks for the help, forreal!

2. Joe Milo

Joe Milo

3. alembicbones

alembicbones

4. InsanityAmps

InsanityAmps Supporting Member

There are good deals to be had, especially if you don't need something right away. Keep your eyes open and read reviews on things that pop up. I picked up an SWR megoliath 810 cab on craigslist last week for $200! Those went for $1500 new. Missing the emblems, casters were broken, plastic slide rails missing, and the tweeter was blown when I tested it out at the guy's house. When I took the tweeter apart it was just full of sawdust. Cleaned that out, and $30 worth of parts later it is ready to rock.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Cheap, quick, and roadworthy - a Rolls PM351 with Shure SE215 earbuds only cost about $175.

7. grapes

grapes