1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass newbie needs help choosing new bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tfish1000, Jan 6, 2014.

1. tfish1000

tfish1000

I've been playing bass for about 3 years now, and I currently play a MIA Jazz bass in our school's jazz band and our pep band, but I'm still playing on my starter Dean bass at home, and would like an upgrade. My current choices are:

A used MIM Precision bass, the store owners assure me it plays well and there aren't any flaws other than cosmetic ones.

A Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar bass for about the same price new, I've played one of these at the local guitar center and I loved the way it plays, but am I losing tone with the P/J duncan designed pickups compared to the MIM?

And finally, an Ibanez SR400, I like the lightness of this bass but I don't know if you can get the punchy lows and the mids of the P Bass with the active pickups.

I play in a three piece blues-rock band with my friends, and I would like a tone that's very heavy but cuts through the mix because our music is very bass-oriented thankfully.

Thanks for any help, this is my first post so I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this.
  2. ebannist

ebannist

Check out a Fender Reggie Hamilton bass! It's all you need.
  3. tfish1000

tfish1000

That's a bit out of my price range, I'm just a student with about a $450 limit, sorry.

It looks like everything I'd like though!
  4. Huge