1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass newbie needs help upgrading!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tfish1000, Jan 26, 2014.

1. tfish1000

tfish1000

I've been playing bass for around 3 years now and I would like an upgrade. Could you help me pick a bass for around $350? I have a few that i'm already looking at.

http://www.musicgoround.com/p/98955/used-ibanez-sr500-bartolinis

I like the thin neck on these, but I'm worried I'm curious about the active electronics and if you can get a nice smooth tone like a precision or jazz with pickups blended.

http://www.musicgoround.com/p/90010/used-fender-mim-p-bass-wbag

I've been looking at a precision bass for a while, because I like the way it sits in the sound when I use my friend's when we jam, but I'm not a huge fan of the neck, if I end up buying one though I'm sure I can adjust.

http://www.musicgoround.com/p/17351/used-fender-j-bass
    or
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/squier-classic-vibe-jazz-bass-60s-bass-guitar

I like the necks on jazz basses, but I'm not sure how well they can sit in the mix or come forward when I play with others. Also curious about the production and sound quality between the CV bass and the MIM.

I deeply appreciate any help and opinions I can get!
  2. philvanv

philvanv Gerbil Turds, Kitsap County Turd Core Supporting Member

In my opinion a jazz style can be used with any style of music
  3. soulman969

soulman969