Bass notes for a pre chorus

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Gordonuk, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Gordonuk

Gordonuk

Hi there,

I am a newbie and want to write R&B and Pop/Rock and just wanted to know some of the common bass notes played for a pre chorus?

I can usually successfully write both the verses and the chorus but struggle with where to take the bass line for the pre chorus to make it sound fresh and to also make it sound compatible with the preceeding verse and following chorus.

Any tips on this would be great.

Many thanks.
  2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

http://garyewer.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/getting-pre-chorus-chord-choices-right/

http://www.haydockmusic.com/composing_tips/pre_chorus_song_structures.html

I think the above should give you an idea................ of what chord progression to use. After you get the chord progression the notes for your bass line is just like any other progression. Root on one, have some room add the 5, then the correct 3 and 7.

Almost forget - remember the chord you used is supposed to harmonize the melody being played over that chord. The active melody needs a chord with some of the same melody notes in it's makeup. If that happens you harmonize and sound good.

So it's a balancing act between the treble and bass clef sharing at least one note per measure.
  3. Gordonuk

Gordonuk

Thanks MalcolmAmos,

For your informative reply.

It certainly gives food for thought. There does not seem to be much information online about specifically writing a pre-chorus and its accompanying bass notes. Even Gary Ewers excellent article about this does not give specific chord progressions used for pre choruses.

I will have to keep looking for examples of actual pre chorus chord progessions and their accompanying bass notes.

But at least your response gives me a start so thanks again for your informative response.

Many thanks.
  4. MalcolmAmos