1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass Player but not a Musician

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Maz, Feb 25, 2014.

1. Maz

Maz

I am not a Musician. I don't play an instrument for a living. I can't read music. I'm not just a roots & fifths player but I don't have much music theory knowledge either. I'm ignorant about keys and timings, but I can hold it down with the right notes generally, and I'm told I understand rhythm. I'm just a bass player, and I'm not even sure about that since I quit my band.

I think the distinction is important, do you? How many of you are Bass players, but not musicians?
  2. joebar

joebar Supporting Member

I consider myself a musician first and a bassist second although I am a solid bassist.
  3. nutdog

nutdog Supporting Member

I'm a bass owner.
  4. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS * Supporting Member

Important why, and to whom?

I see what you are getting at, but as far as I know musician is not a registered profession with specific skills or skill levels. If you are on stage playing an instrument you are a musician. Maybe not a professional musician though, if it's not your main source of income.