1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Bass rackmount gear and stompboxes

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ajw5299, Oct 3, 2013.

1. ajw5299

ajw5299

I've been playing bass for at least 5 years now. I'm starting to get serious with my playing and sound and I'm looking to upgrade my tone with some processing. I was planning to get some type of compressor and a type of EQ to shape my tone rather than using effects.

I was wondering, since I would most likely use a compressor and EQ as static effects (leave them on almost always) would it be worth it to save floor space and get a compressor and EQ in rackmount form? Or would it be better/cheaper with both in stompbox form? I am looking for a solid compressor that is pretty transparent to fatten up my bass sound and EQ for further tweaking.

I already have a Tech 21 Sansamp and that is in stompbox form, and I usually keep it on all the time. If there is a better option than the other, I would be on a tight budget either way. I have some experience using signal processing so ease of use really isn't a concern for me. Can someone help me out and lead me in the right direction?

Thank you,

Ajw5299

2. fleizenkruz

fleizenkruz

If you're really on a tight budget, I would suggest you to stick with the Sansamp. It's a good unit as it is.

But if you really want to upgrade, probably invest your money on a good amp. Good old Ampeg SVT or Mesa Carbine series probably, depends on your budget and taste. If I had those amps, I wouldn't worry about having another EQ unit or a compressor to "fatten up" the tone.

3. 6stringpanda

6stringpanda

Buy a Berhinger V-amp pro rack (170 new, cheap used) I have had mine for over 10 years and use it everyday. YOu can search on this site there are so many threads on this wonderful piece of gear.