1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

Bass Recommendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by k0 by ranger, Dec 17, 2013.

1. k0 by ranger

k0 by ranger

Dec 15, 2013
    Hey so I'm a beginning bassist I've owned a Bronco series squire and I would like to purchase a new bass. The squire was okay in my opinion except it rarely ever stayed in tune and the sound from the strings sounded a little off even when tuned. So I'm looking for bass recommendations under $800. I play alternative rock and punk rock music on my bass so I would prefer a base that's good for that kind of music. Thanks in advance.

2. Gaolee

Gaolee The Fat Violin Supporting Member

Try a different ste of strings first. There's nothing wrong with a well adjusted Squier Bronco. I don't know what is appropriate for alternative rock, but for punk, you would want the cheapest, nastiest, most ratted out instrument you can get. Preferably spray painted flat black by a person with no skill or ability to operate a spray can.

3. Sponsored by:

4. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

Sep 7, 2006
    Blimp City USA
    look used for a good MIA fender P bass, If that does not work go to a fender MIM or CV Squiers.
    Alt rock and Punk sound great with a P bass and rounds cranked up. Don't look to a fancy active bass and all keep it simple and rock out.

5. GretschBassist

GretschBassist

Nov 11, 2012
    For a beginner with a certain taste, the Gretsch Junior Jet (Link | Street price is about $300) is kinda sweet as is sounds "almost adult", got one for my friends son and he LOVES it. It's a short scale, perfect for beginners and/or people with smaller hands.

6. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee