Bass Recommendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by k0 by ranger, Dec 17, 2013.

1. k0 by ranger

k0 by ranger

Hey so I'm a beginning bassist I've owned a Bronco series squire and I would like to purchase a new bass. The squire was okay in my opinion except it rarely ever stayed in tune and the sound from the strings sounded a little off even when tuned. So I'm looking for bass recommendations under $800. I play alternative rock and punk rock music on my bass so I would prefer a base that's good for that kind of music. Thanks in advance.
  2. Gaolee

Gaolee The Fat Violin Supporting Member

Try a different ste of strings first. There's nothing wrong with a well adjusted Squier Bronco. I don't know what is appropriate for alternative rock, but for punk, you would want the cheapest, nastiest, most ratted out instrument you can get. Preferably spray painted flat black by a person with no skill or ability to operate a spray can.
  3. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

look used for a good MIA fender P bass, If that does not work go to a fender MIM or CV Squiers.
    Alt rock and Punk sound great with a P bass and rounds cranked up. Don't look to a fancy active bass and all keep it simple and rock out.
  4. GretschBassist

GretschBassist Supporting Member

For a beginner with a certain taste, the Gretsch Junior Jet (Link | Street price is about $300) is kinda sweet as is sounds "almost adult", got one for my friends son and he LOVES it. It's a short scale, perfect for beginners and/or people with smaller hands.
  5. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

For punk rock, I would think a Fender P-bass would be ideal (I'm not a punk rocker by any stretch, but that's always what they seem to play). You can get a new foreign P within your price range, or a used non-vintage American P.

Alternative is a different story--that describes a pretty wide spectrum. Usually alternative bassists want something a little more unconventional than a P.