1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

BASS RESONANCE

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by shushi_boi, Nov 2, 2012.

1. shushi_boi

shushi_boi

I'm still pretty new to bass guitars, and I've done some research, and I have a fender by squire jazz bass, and I wanted to do it my project to transform it into an actual jazz bass! I figured since I've replaced the pickup tone knob controller, pickups, and strings (fender 7250HM) and I've done research on what I wanted. I also got a amplifier (a Marshall Park series "G10 MK.II" 40 watts) which has a boost switch which I figured is for bass guitars because when I leave it on my bass guitar sounds great and it has no sound problems. So my question here is I've been wanting to replace the neck of my bass guitar to maple (I've researched wood quality and that fits the description of what I'm looking for :bassist: ) and I've stumbled to this which questions my intentions,
    "Join Date: Jun 2011
    I am a luthier.
    Solid body guitars have no tone. The thing that matters most is "does the neck make a solid connection to provide resonance". Secondly, everything needs to be lined up accurately. Thirdly, your intonation must be perfect (as possible) and the guitar must be set up so the strings are as close to the pickups as possible......But most importantly, on an electric guitar, you gotta have great electronics!"
    and