bass rig hookup suggestions

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by brad334, Apr 2, 2014.

1. brad334

brad334

Im just looking for a few suggestions on what order to wire up my bass rig. Im not new at this but im also no expert. For the setup I have there just seems to be quite a number of different ways to run everything. So here's what my rig contains

line 6 g90 wireless
    ampeg svt2 pro
    tech21 vt bass rackmount
    bbe 882i maximizer
    dbx 266xs compressor

I'd ike to have the option of using the tech21 as a footswitchable effect as well as having it on all the time
  2. Sartori

Sartori

Delete the maximizer.

After that, just try various orders and pick whatever sounds best. You might like the effects better in the effects loop or into the input. Either way is okay (you also might like one effect in the loop and the other into the input, or vice versa).

I would start by getting a tone you like just with the amp by itself, and then add things.
    Jamesray740 likes this.
  3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Presumably you have a footswitch for the VT.

The compressor will work best in the effect loop of your amp.

The vt should handle going in the effect loop or in front, assuming it's same as RBI rackmount with the padding.

Getting the levels right in the effect loop would have the advantage of using the VT's DI. So Comp first, VT 2nd in the fx loop of,your amp.

Maximiser in the bin.
    Sartori likes this.
  4. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Other effects should go in front of amp input.
  5. brad334

brad334

Thanks for the help. I figured I would have a few people tell me to get rid of the maximizer. Any suggestions as to what to replace it with? I have this problem where open rack spaces bug me. I think I may have found a community here that understands my pain
    Sartori likes this.
  6. Sartori

Sartori

A drawer for your cables. Or a fan. Or even a tuner. Something actually useful.
  7. okcrum

okcrum in your chest Supporting Member