1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass volume control

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GRAHAM SG1, Nov 22, 2012.

1. GRAHAM SG1

GRAHAM SG1

How do YOU use your volume control on your bass ?

I was a guitarist for many years before switching to bass a few years ago and always used the volume control (on the instrument not the amp) fully dialled in the belief that it sends the optimum signal to the amp, (apart from when using the control as a violin type effect) I still use it this way on bass .
    I just wondered what others do with the volume knob ?
  2. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Occasionally I'll do swells with a delay. I don't use that effect often enough to justify having a volume pedal. I'll sometimes turn down on the bass a hair if it's a softer song.
  3. carlis

carlis

I always max out the volume. I superglue my volume knobs at the maximum position so that they won't move at all afterwards.

...kidding but I am really tempted to do so. You know, Anthony Jackson's basses have no knob at all (and he feeds his instrument into a volume pedal...though)

[​IMG]

and the opposite version is John Myung's bass, on which all but the volume knob are "hammered" in and locked in the middle position.

[​IMG]
  4. tabdog

tabdog

It depends on the song.

If it is a song that builds in volume at the
    end, I'll start with the volume rolled back
    a little and then turn it up as the song builds