Bass without a truss rod

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Joey.Ogden, Aug 11, 2008.

1. Joey.Ogden

Joey.Ogden

Okay, here's the deal.

I'm about to start building my first bass. I've never built a guitar of any kind before, but for a number of reasons I would like to make my own bass.

So I've looked all over town for all the various parts and found everything I need except one: a truss rod.:mad:

I'm not willing to pay the price of shipping on top of the rod price if there's any chance of getting away without one, so... Can I do it?

What I was picturing was making the neck real thick (like, an inch or maybe even more) and using a neck-through-body design to help take the stress. I would make a short-scale bass to take some strain off as well. I was thinking of making the entire thing out of quarter inch laminations of alternating bloodwood and either black walnut or maple. I was planning on hollowing out a lot of area on the wings to save weight, 'cause I know bloodwood weighs a ton. I'm willing to have it heavy though because I play sitting down. I want a four-string by the way.

So, here are my questions:

1) Is the bass I describe feasible? As in, would it be strong enough to take the tension of the strings? How thick will the neck have to be with this design?

2) If not, how could I make it work without paying huge amounts of cash for the trussrod? Would reinforcing strips made of some other wood help? Carbon fibre reinforcers are also out of the question.

3) If it will work, do you have any recommendations for it? How the dising could be improved and so on.

Thanks in advance for the help, and hopefully I don't have too much trouble with the thing.:meh:
  2. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

This thread would likely get more responses in the Luthier's Corner section of the forum.