Bass wont play

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by MCJesus, Dec 27, 2012.


  1. MCJesus

    MCJesus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    I've run into a slight problem. I've been practicing a year with no amp, (I had been using a friend's, but he had to sell it for financial reasons) but now that I have a new one my bass wont work in it. I know the amp isn't the problem, because I tried my old Squire in it and it plays like a dream.

    The Squire is passive, so I figured the battery was probably dead in my LTD, but I changed it and it's still not working. Then I opened up the back to check all the soldering, and it all looks fine, as does the jack. I haven't had any power running through the bass for about a year, so I don't see how the electronics could be fried.

    My only two guesses are that the amp won't accept input from an active bass, or the battery just isn't good. (The new battery was a cheap dollar store one.)

    The amp is a Roland Cube 30 Bass. Does anyone know what the problem might be?
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    IF the battery is good some active basses will need a TRS cable to the amp instead of a normal 2 conductor one.
  3. 5port

    5port

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    LI,new yawk
    There is a chance that the battery on/off switch contact on the 1/4" jack located inside the bass is contaminated/oxidized. These contacts are out of site inside the 1/4" jack. Try spraying contact cleaner inside the female jack on the bass. These contacts may have failed all together.
  4. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You can also just run a plug in and out of the jack several times really fast and can usually dislodge corrosion if you have any. But cheapo batteries will let you down when you need them, and I don't know of any active preamp maker who recommends using anything but quality alkalines. You can try licking the battery terminals to see if there's still juice in it (WARNING: It will give you a mild shock if it has any juice left), or maybe try it in something else in your house that uses 9v's. I'm betting it's the battery.
  5. MCJesus

    MCJesus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    And you nailed it.

    Can't believe I forgot about this.
  6. 5port

    5port

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    LI,new yawk
    and his prize is? (B-string)...(holiday season cough,cough):bassist:
  7. David Jayne

    David Jayne

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    Brookfield, CT
    That was IT? I've NEVER owned a bass that needed a TRS cable, and I've had plenty of active ones. News to me.
  8. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Solving someone's problem is a prize (gift?) in itself :D

    It is not so much the basses need as the way the amp handles the input.
  9. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Location:
    Groom Lake, NV
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I never knew LTD basses require TRS plugs. It's just weird. I'm curious as to which other brands of active basses require a TRS plug. I own 15 active basses of various brands, and none require TRS plugs. If you include all the active basses I own or have owned, the brands are:

    Breedlove
    Ernie Ball
    F Bass
    Fender
    Fodera
    Jerzy Drozd
    Lakland
    LeCompte
    Pedulla
    Sadowsky
    Yamaha
    Zon
  10. scottfeldstein

    scottfeldstein Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    West Bend, Wisconsin
    I'm betting this was the real issue all along.
  11. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    5 cents says it's the battery.
  12. murphy

    murphy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Many years and many many active basses.
    Never heard of using a TRS cable
    and played through a Roland Cube...no issues
  13. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Location:
    Reims, Champagne, France
    Actually active basses typically refuse to work with a TRS cable, precisely because the link to the battery isn't achieved.
    I've played several LTDs and none of them required a TRS.
  14. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Name one factory-produced example of such a thing.
  15. Stealth

    Stealth Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Negative, if anything, a TRS cable will make it stop working because the ring contact on the cable won't close the circuit the way the longer shield contact on a TS cable would.
  16. arai

    arai

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    I would like to hear of an example
    +3
  17. AlexanderB

    AlexanderB

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sweden
    TRS cable + active bass makes sense for phantom powered amps like EBS. 9V is supplied from the amp to the instrument via the TRS cable.
  18. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I do recall the Line 6 Variax requiring some type of weird-ass cable but that's as close as I can come. TRS for a conventional active bass? Nope.

    Riis
  19. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    That only works for EBS pedals--it does not work with any basses or any other brand of pedal.
  20. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Location:
    Reims, Champagne, France
    It is very easy to make any active bass work with the phantom power of EBS amps, all you need to do is to use a TRS cable and shortcut the poles of the battery plug.
    Which is totally off the current subject.

Share This Page