bassses that are easy to play?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dogenzenjisamsa, Dec 28, 2012.

1. dogenzenjisamsa

dogenzenjisamsa

hey guys,

I've been playing bass for about 8 years now, and just recently I've been getting pains in my fretting hand, and I believe that I have lost some strength in this hand :( I had a really bad technique, as I was never given lessons and whenever I stretch my hand over 4 frets (1 finger per fret) starting at the first fret on the neck, I get a sharp pain in the middle of my hand. I have some strain playing when the instrument is tuned standard, and I'm only really comfortable when its flattened a half step.

I'm thinking about buying a new bass, and I was wondering if you all new any specific model bass that is really easy to play in standard tuning/doesn't require much effort to fret. I heard rick's are good, and i've always wanted one, but I wanted to know if any other ones were good

2. jabsys

jabsys

If it's fine half a step down, why not just use lighter strings tuned to standard?
  3. stepswork4me

stepswork4me Supporting Member

Try some short scales with low action.
  4. dogenzenjisamsa

dogenzenjisamsa

It's at the lowest action it can be without buzzing, and i have d'addario super light strings
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. EagleMoon

EagleMoon Supporting Member

I don't know what kind of strings you use, or how the setup is on your bass. But you might want to try getting a setup and see if your action is high. Or you could try some round core strings, like DR Highbeams or Sunbeams. They're a little more flexible than a hex core string and easier to press down to the fingerboard.
  7. Tupac

Tupac

-Low Action
    -Thin neck (if you play with the thumb in the back instead of over)
    -Light strings

Sounds like you need an Ibanez or a Fender Jazz.
  8. dogenzenjisamsa

dogenzenjisamsa

also, I play a fernandes J bass
  9. stepswork4me

stepswork4me Supporting Member

Try shortscale.