1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

bassses that are easy to play?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dogenzenjisamsa, Dec 28, 2012.

1. dogenzenjisamsa

dogenzenjisamsa

hey guys,

I've been playing bass for about 8 years now, and just recently I've been getting pains in my fretting hand, and I believe that I have lost some strength in this hand :( I had a really bad technique, as I was never given lessons and whenever I stretch my hand over 4 frets (1 finger per fret) starting at the first fret on the neck, I get a sharp pain in the middle of my hand. I have some strain playing when the instrument is tuned standard, and I'm only really comfortable when its flattened a half step.

I'm thinking about buying a new bass, and I was wondering if you all new any specific model bass that is really easy to play in standard tuning/doesn't require much effort to fret. I heard rick's are good, and i've always wanted one, but I wanted to know if any other ones were good

2. jabsys

jabsys

If it's fine half a step down, why not just use lighter strings tuned to standard?
  3. stepswork4me

stepswork4me Supporting Member

Try some short scales with low action.
  4. dogenzenjisamsa

dogenzenjisamsa

It's at the lowest action it can be without buzzing, and i have d'addario super light strings
  5. EagleMoon

EagleMoon Supporting Member