Becoming a bassist

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by ciarian, Dec 16, 2013.

1. ciarian

ciarian

Hi

This has probably been posted many times but i just want view on my take on this.

Ive been playing guitar for 6 years now but late year a friend asked me to join his band as a bassist. Not knowing anything about bass ,apart from having played one to fill in on a few tracks i did at school for exam pieces, i joined that band and began studing bass players, techniques and sounds etc etc. I was encouraged to do this by a leader at the youth group i was going to at the time who had also become a very good bass player. He told me that theres always a lack of good bass players since everyone wants to be a guitarist and that bass would help expand my opportunities for a carer in music. Taking on board what i had learnt i continued to play bass in this band until it broke up in july of this year (i was still playing guitar though out this time).

Now ive heard all saying like "bassists are failed/frustrated guitarists" and stuff like that but im not a frustrated guitarist i just enjoy playing guitar and ill always love it and continue to buy guitars even if i become a fully fledged bassist. Also i wouldn't say im a failed guitarist either, in fact ive been told im a pretty good guitarist. its just that i enjoy rhythm in music too and the fact that the bass is felt in the audience and i love iron maiden and how steve harris has contributed to there songs interms or arrangement etc.

Again i have been offered to be the bassist of a already established band by a member who had saw my play bass in my last band and im debating weather to go that way again.

Ide just like to see other peoples opinions on my situation :)
  2. Gaolee

Gaolee The Fat Violin Supporting Member

Go for it. Bass is the root of everything. The guitarists and singers get the spotlight, but bass makes the audience jump and twitch. Without bass, they are not much.
  3. WashburnAB95

WashburnAB95