Beginner again

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by EdgeXXL, Dec 15, 2013.

1. EdgeXXL

EdgeXXL Supporting Member

I just found this sight four days ago and have been reading non-stop. This site is a great resource of information.

Here is my story. When I was 16 (back in the mid 70's) I started learning how to play guitar and bass. I picked up a very used Fender Jazz and played it for a couple years. I joined the military and quit playing. Well I have started playing again after a 35 year layoff. I am a beginner and don't remember much but I will pick it back up quick.

My original bass is long gone which brings me to the questions I want to ask here. I am shopping and have a few in mind. I am thinking about another Fender in either a jazz or precision model. What are some of the pro's and con's of each model. I have played a jazz recently as my son ownes a very nice one that his grandfather gave him several years ago. I like it but have wondered about what a Precision would be like. I will go to the local guitar center and play one later this week.

Second question is there are several nice used in each model locally available. What are the pro's and con's of either a made in Mexico Jazz or Precision or a Squire Vintage Modified Jazz or a Squire Classic Vibe Jazz.

Thanks and waiting to see what kind of suggestions I get from all of you on this great forum.

2. tgriley62

tgriley62

Welcome. I just turned 51 this month & started playing 4 years ago. I tried playing bass in H/S in the late 70's & just could not get the hang of it & gave it up. I also went into the military in '81 I don't know about Fender's, I have a '89 Peavey Foundation, so I cant offer any advice there but, this site & www.studybass.com have been a great source of info & help for me

3. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member