1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Beginner Bassist, Fender Rumble 150

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by HazyPlotJonny, Nov 21, 2012.

1. HazyPlotJonny

HazyPlotJonny

Hi everyone,

I'll start off by saying that I'm new to both this forum and to playing bass. I'll let you know that I'm simply a teenager who's been playing for maybe 2 months now. My dad's a guitarist, so I've been using his old Boss guitar amp for practice at low volume. I am now in the market for a bass amp. Since I am not of legal age to work, and therefore am low on cash, I'm looking for something cheap, but something that I may eventually be able to gig with. I know a guitarist and drummer and we have plans of starting a little band, however I'm not sure that my dad's tiny guitar practice amp will be loud enough for an actual band practice. There's also the fact that my father says that the cheap little guitar amp can't handle the bass frequencies or something, so I've never turned it up past 4 in fear of damaging his guitar amp. So, I've looked at my options, and I thought that the Fender Rumble 150 looked like a decent amp for its price. My question is, what do you guys think of this amp? My dad says that Fender used to be one of the best, is that still true today? I know absolutely nothing about bass amps, but I think that 150 watts should be good enough. However, my real question is whether it'll be loud enough for gigs, like birthday parties, talent shows, local festivals, thing