Beginner Bassist, what kind of bass to get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ImJustDez, Dec 1, 2012.

1. ImJustDez

ImJustDez

I'm starting to learn how to play bass and with the money I get for Christmas I'm going to buy one. The thing is I don't know which bass to get xP
    I'm starting a band and it's going to be inspired by the bands Of Mice & Men, Asking Alexandria, Get Scared, etc.
    So what kind of bass should I get to be able to play music like that?
    It'd also be cool if someone told me a good amp that would go with it too.
    If I could I'd buy Sterling by Music Man but I can't cause that's really expensive and well I'm just starting out.
    Right now I'm thinking this:
    http://www.samash.com/p/Epiphone_Toby Standard IV Bass Guitar_1782904
    This:
    http://www.samash.com/p/Ibanez_GSR100 Bass Guitar_444004
    or this:
    http://www.samash.com/p/ESP_LTD B10 Bass Guitar with Gig Bag_-49947770
    but I'm not really sure xP :help:

2. jonnyatk

jonnyatk

they all look quite nice indeed, ive been looking for a new amp myself,
    and i was reading a good used/new debate...
    and if £200 or dollars is your ball park you may be able to get a nice little used bass, and a nice little 30 ish watt amp, 35 watt has been plenty enough for me practicing at home, especialy if your only starting out cause you might not like it in the future?

hope that adds to your search!

PS out of the three links you posted i quite like the Toby Standard IV

3. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

have you handled any of these?

I have a GSR200, and I've very happy with it. I bought an amp (Fender Bronco 40) but in all honesty it set idle for months because I couldn't hear fret buzz with it.

4. Mykk

Mykk

Of those options, (and having not played them) I like the pickup config of the epiphone toby.