Beginner in search of help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CaveMan462, Feb 9, 2013.

1. CaveMan462

CaveMan462

I'm kind of new to anything musical but like a challenge so I thought I'd learn the bass/guitar. I just don't know where to start.

Brief history: I picked up the guitar about 9 months ago and can play some chords and a few simple kids songs. A few weeks ago I jammed with a friend and his band, playing guitar and bass. The bass spoke to me! (mostly it said "you suck") but the point is I heard it and loved it!

But where to start? This will be a hobby. I have three kids under 7 y/o so I play at night while they're in bed. What should I be practicing? Which songs to start with? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

LOL!!! Trust me, we all know that feeling. :)

The Hal Leonard Complete Bass Method is often recommended. It wasn't around when I was a beginner, so I have no direct experience with it, but it was written by Ed Friedland, an author who's other books have helped me immensely. (He's also on TB).

http://www.amazon.com/Leonard-Bass-...d=1360450179&sr=8-1&keywords=hal leonard bass

Also probably a cool resource for you would be the Bass Tab White Pages. This book I do own and can recommend. It's got tabs for 100's of tunes, pretty accurate, and ranging in difficulty from Foo Fighters "Learn To Fly" (easy) to Primus' "Jerry Was a Race Car Driver" (good luck! :D)

http://www.amazon.com/Bass-White-Pa...60450492&sr=1-1&keywords=bass tab white pages

3. CaveMan462

CaveMan462

Jerry rules! Although Speed Racer Jr is my hero. Thanks for the info. I'll order the white pages asap.

4. fearceol

fearceol

Hi, and welcome to the low end ! :)

First, I would advise you not to get too involved with tabs. They will only lead to a dead end in the long run. It is much better to listen and try to play along to songs you like.

As for where to start, here is my 2c worth.