Beginner Using Flatwound Strings - Pros & Cons

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by p0ppyman, Dec 27, 2013.

1. p0ppyman

p0ppyman Supporting Member

What are the Pro's and Con's of using flatwound strings as a beginner?

Four weeks ago I picked up my Squier Precision Bass 60's Vibe. I have three 1 hour lessons under my belt. I am thinking of moving to flatwound strings. Forty years ago I played a Gibson EB-3 with flatwounds for a couple of years. I can't remember a thing! Well I can remember two things, I should not have let the bass get away and I should of kept playing but I digress ..

Thanks,

Billy

2. Rich McCoy

Rich McCoy

Put some light gauge flats on there.

3. backup

backup

when i switched to flats not only the tone changed but also the feel, i started playing differently. you don't have to take a light gauge, it's all down to preference. it's going to be different either way, light gauge didn't help me that much in transition, when i siwtched to heavier flats i liked it more.

4. Matthew_84

Matthew_84

The only con I can think of is that flats have little to no finger noise, and you may not notice little nuances you may do that would make your technique sound sloppy with rounds, and you may develop some bad habits. However, if you did switch to rounds afterwards, you'd notice these bad habits and would likely correct them within a few hours to a few weeks - depending on the severity.

If this is a concern but you like the sound of flats, one compromise you could do is roll down your tone knob all the way when the deeper sound is crucial, but turning the tone up full when it is not and you are practicing alone.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Martin89

Martin89

Disclosures:
    Unofficial Endorser: Ibanez, D'Addario, Zoom