Beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RoccoI, Dec 5, 2013.

1. RoccoI

RoccoI

Hi, I'm just getting into bass. Have very little musical knowledge, played a few chords on guitar but that's about it.
    Anyhow, now I want to learn how to play base and was thinking of getting either the Epiphone Viola or hofner ignition. Like the lighter and smaller basses.
    Are these good basses to begin with?

Thanks

2. awilkie84

awilkie84

Personally, I'm not a fan of viola basses. That being said, Ibanez makes some nice light basses with versatile tones. :) They can be had for the same, or less, than the Epiphone.

3. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Personally I wouldn't go with a Beatle style bass because they tones they have aren't very versatile in my opinion. For a first bass the ibanez gsr200 is outstanding. Very comfortable and versatile sounding.

4. RoccoI

RoccoI

Thanks for the advice guys. I'll look around for one.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jim777

jim777 Tarantula Lobbyist

An instructor is the best way to both get good on the instrument quickly, and to keep at it. Scott Devine's YouTube channel is excellent, and you can start checking that out before you get your bass :)
    Welcome to the dark side!

7. RoccoI

RoccoI

Thanks Jim777, I will check it out when I get home from work.
    Got an instructor lined up, all I need is the bass.

8. dalkowski

dalkowski

Used Yamaha
    Used Squier
    Used Ibanez
    Used Peavey

Welcome, and happy playing!

9. CBNJ

CBNJ Sorry brother.

I'll second the used USA Peavey.

10. drummer5359

drummer5359 Gold Supporting Member

Welcome to TB!

There is a wealth of knowledge here, friendly people who want to help.

All of the bass suggestions that you've been given are solid. Have fun.

11. Thumper

Thumper Supporting Member

New Vintage Modified Squier, Sweetwater sets them up well, shows a photo and lists weights of each bass, has a 2 year warranty, and free delivery. Start with a Precision in my opinion.