1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Behringer Bass V-AMP Pro - Part II: Get On Back, Jack, Do It Again...

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BassyBill, Jul 22, 2011.


  1. BassyBill

    BassyBill The smooth moderator... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    West Midlands UK
  2. diehard70

    diehard70

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    NE Ohio/Central Florida
    Annnd....We're back:D
     
  3. CharlieC

    CharlieC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    New York, NY / U.S.A.
    Now that we're in Part II of this thread, it would be great if there were rumors of Bass V-AMP 2.0 product, the TalkBass Edition :D

    Cheers!
     
  4. MarcusPHagen

    MarcusPHagen

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN [USA]
    And even better if there actually WAS one!

    Marcus
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    My BVPro is soon to become my primary guitar amp at home. I am taking my GK amp to church and leaving it there. It sounds so much better than the 1x15 Peavey currently in place. This will free up a few square feet in old music studio/computer room.

    Up to now, I have been using the 2x10 GK cab as the speaker cab for my Fargen guitar amp head.
     
  7. KingRazor

    KingRazor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon USA
    Darn it, I was waiting for this thread and still only got post #6. Oh well. First page. :)

    Now that I have an audio interface I want to experiment with midi stuff...
     
  8. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    More fun via the V-Amp Editor tonight.

    I have my guitar pedal chain in the Pre-DSP loop, but some of the pedal have a bit of noise -- probably due to using my Godlyke Power-All. Denoiser to the rescue! I slowly incremented the Denoiser up until the hum mostly went away, which turned out to be -63db.

    So, I had the Tele plugged in and was jamming away. I prefer my fuzz pedal to the ones in the unit.

    Gold Panel amp into a Leslie cab, some reverb, my tremolo pedal, a little fuzz and I summoning sounds of spaghetti westerns of yore.

    All of this experimentation is a good thing, because as of tomorrow (Sunday), the BVPro becomes my only amp in my music room. The bass amp is going to church and staying there, because it sounds way better than the 1x15 Peavey currently there. My guitar amp head is using the GK's speaker cab.
     
  9. ric3xrt

    ric3xrt

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    SE PA
    Been useing mine as an effects only deal.
    Thinking of buying anohter one for a cover band rig I'm putting ogether.
     
  10. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    For a live situation, consider the FCB1010 midi foot controller. Also, consider using the V-Amp Designer software to directly control the unit while at practice. There are some settings for the effects and other places that aren't accessible on the front panel.
     
  11. CnB77

    CnB77

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    Might as well dip my feet in here
    I'm gonna start making a rig that includes one of these. I'm buying a Fender Rumble 100 from a friend, and my understanding is that it has a power amp in jack so I can easily hook this up after following the guide. The only thing that has me hesitating are that money is tight and after 8 years they might be coming out with something new...

    But hell, I'm gonna have one by the end of the summer.
     
  12. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    There is always the risk of something newer being released. I picked mine up used for $70.
     
  13. CnB77

    CnB77

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    Unfortunately nobody in my area has one listed or I'd have jumped on it by now

    I'll have to keep my eyes peeled on ebay and the classifieds here

    ETA: There's one used one on ebay, but it's only been tested to power on and it looks like some of the controls are missing. Too bad.
     
  14. KingRazor

    KingRazor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Beaverton, Oregon USA
    Remember that this is a pre-amp, not a power amp.

    I am a big fan of the Fender Rumble series.
     
  15. CnB77

    CnB77

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    What I meant is that there's an input that bypasses the Fender's preamp and goes straight to the power section, I probably worded it weirdly
     
  16. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    If the amp has an FX loop, you take the Vamps output to the FX Return.
     
  17. CharlieC

    CharlieC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    New York, NY / U.S.A.
    +1

    That's exactly how I'd connect the V-AMP in that scenario

    Cheers!
     
  18. CnB77

    CnB77

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    Well, my GAS got so bad that I think I'm gonna buy one today. Where's the best place? Musiciansfriend? Hoping for free shipping, and maybe some coupon codes if anyone has any.
     
  19. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    MF should net you free shipping, yes.

    If you can wait for the next holiday, you might be able to get another 15% to 20% off.
     
  20. CnB77

    CnB77

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    Hmmm... we'll see.
    What cables would I need to connect it to the amp and to my computer?
     
  21. caeman

    caeman The Root Master

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    An instrument cable is what you will need.
     

Share This Page