1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Behringer BX1200

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by MarshallNole, Dec 13, 2013.

1. MarshallNole

MarshallNole Supporting Member

Is it common for this amp to have a hiss/hum when you turn the volume or certain controls to certain levels? Mine especially does this when connected to a pedal. I got it for cheap with my bass guitar. I'm just learning, maybe this is just a cheap amp?
  2. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

Hissing and humming can mean a few things. First, if it barely hisses when there's no effects, it's likely not the amp.
    Two, if you have two single coil pickups and one is turned down, you'll get hum.
    Three, if you installed some of those new energy saving lightbulbs, those could be causing hum because it did at our rehearsal space.
    What kind of pedal are you using? You might have to change the settings on the pedal or the amps EQ when you're using the pedal.
  3. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Yes they are "value" equipment but if this happens with pedals then it is most likely the pedals and not the amp.
    See jeff7bass's response above.
  4. MarshallNole

It happens with or without the pedal when the volume hits a certain point. It's just a hum like you know the amp is on. I'd rather not hear it. I am going to assume the amp sucks and when I upgrade I will not have this issue.
  5. Pimmsley

Pimmsley