1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Berklee Bass Audition Song Help/Ideas

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ant_C, Jan 18, 2013.

1. Ant_C

Ant_C

I have been going crazy recently with choosing my audition piece for Berklee. A little introduction about my musical interests... I am a jazz upright/electric bassist, and have performed in several jazz groups (including combos, and my high school's jazz band). I know berklee is a jazz school, so this is my main reason behind auditioning to get in there. I am more concerned with my prepared piece as I can do all of the styles mentioned (I can walk, do a 2 feel, a samba/bossa are easy because my high school band loves latin charts, the funk should be no problem at all because I have a lot practice with that, and the rock is the easiest of all), and my sight reading is pretty good (i can sight read 90% of charts that range from hard, to a simple swing tune, and I have experience as a classical bassist and bass clarinetist so reading music is a joke for me at this point)

I have had a couple ideas regarding songs, they include :
    - Orinthology (3 choruses, head, walking a bass line, and soloing)
    - What's Going On by Marvin Gaye
    - Mother Man by Atheist/YYZ by rush (I have had these learned and perfect because my band used to cover them a lot, and I thought mother man would be cool because Athiest has a lot of jazz fusion elements and latin stuff too, and it showcases my electric bass chops)