1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Best Bass for Under 500 (American dollars)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by The_Brit, Feb 3, 2014.

1. The_Brit

The_Brit

So I first got my Laguna LB200 last year. To be honest its just a cheap built bass, best what else can you expect from a 200-300 dollar bass. So now that I have had some experience, not a lot, but enough experience to progress and develop my skills and playing style, I need a new bass. So I'm looking at the best bang for your buck bass under 500 dollars. As of right now here are two options that I find quite good, so please recomend away! Thank you!

Warwick Streamer Standard Electric Bass Guitar: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/warwick-streamer-standard-electric-bass-guitar

Fender Blacktop Precision Bass: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/fender-blacktop-precision-bass

I have found a lot of good things about the blacktop, and I also like the fact that it has double humbuckers as well as it is MIM. The Warwick I do not know as much about and it seems fairly unreviewed.

Rock on! :bassist:

-The_Brit

2. Maxdusty

Maxdusty Supporting Member

Warwick makes fantastic basses! Highly regarded and have incredible sound and feel. They usually run for a thousand or two though- the fantastic ones.
    However, the one you're looking at is on their "budget" line- not one made in Germany where the best Warwick basses are made. I don't know how much of a drop off there is in quality, but I would definitely recommend going to a store and trying some basses out.
    Fender Blacktop P bass I did try, it's pretty good but it all comes down to a matter of preference- I like Fender basses for what they're most famous for, the sound of a P-bass or Jazz bass pickup. For humbuckers/active style basses, I prefer Warwick or Spector. Fender cannot beat those.

3. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member