best bass guitar for 600$

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jrguillett2, Dec 27, 2010.

1. jrguillett2

jrguillett2

i am looking to buy a new bass i have been playing for 6 months and have saved some money up and after some money from Christmas i have 600 dollars i can spend on a bass what would you people at talk bass recommend a Schecter? a fender? oh also i play rock country and some funk
  2. Stilettoprefer

Stilettoprefer

I love my schecter!!! Its a stiletto ($400?) but its an amzing bass. Super solid and extremely versatile. I imagine that they only get better with price.
  3. bassist4dalord

bassist4dalord

Oh boy.. Here we go again. Go to the guitar store, play a bunch. Look around here in the TB Classifieds.

Fenders are great basses, but they can be hit or miss a lot. Look for a used MIA (Made in America) Fender.
  4. plankspanker13

plankspanker13

There are a lot of great basses at your price point. You must be happy with your choice, and I am sure that a lot of us will offer our own ideas and spins, based upon what we like. Please start by telling us what you are already playing on, and what you may think that you might want, based upon your initial experiences (P, J, Ray, active/passive, etc.).

Meanwhile, I'll give you a list of a few exceptional instruments to try checking out:

Squier - They are doing amazing things. You may find that a Vintage Modified or Classic series bass is something for you. With $600 to spend, you might get strap locks, a bridge upgrade, and a nice case, and still have money left over for an effect pedal.

G&L Tribute series - A JB2 or SB2 may take most of your $600 to acquire, but you would become an initiate into a great fraternity of bassists who know where the best Fenders come from.

Schecter Raiden - Very impressive for a "starter," yet versatile enough to be a step-up, or even a main gigger. 24 frets, and a great sound rooted in the J tradition, but the coil splitter capability can give you $$ sounds as well.