1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Best Bass Head for 2 1x15 Cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by zfunkman, Jan 20, 2013.

1. zfunkman

zfunkman

I've been using an SWR SM-400 for about 20 years; it finally needs replacing. For cabs I use 2 Bag Ends; a 1x15 and a 1x15 coaxial. 8 ohms for both. The search for a new head can be overwhelming. 2 amps I've been looking at within my price range are the SVT 3Pro and the Orange Terror Bass 1000. There are also a few more that I will be looking into that I don't yet know much about. Its been a long time since I've shopped for a new bass head.
  2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

If you are interested in th Orange amp the TB500 would be a cheaper option.
  3. zfunkman

zfunkman

I never said I was looking for "cheaper." I'm well aware of the Terror 500. I'm looking in the $1000 - $1200 price range. I'm looking for opinions and knowlege, not suggestions for what is "cheaper." Do you have a TB500? And if so, how do you like it? And, what style of music do you play?
  4. Bmorefoozler

Bmorefoozler

I think he was pointing that out in relation to the fact that your paif of speakers is likely displacement limited south of 500 watts, so the additional watts and cost of the TB1000 would go un-used with those particular cabs.

One of the "classic" TB matchups is the Markbass little mark series with those cabs. Might be a good direction to look in.
  5. zfunkman

zfunkman