Best bass you can get for under $1000

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by devonstone, Oct 17, 2011.

1. devonstone

devonstone

I'm a bassist on a budget. I'm really wanting a new bass and I prefer a five string. I need a great feel and a good tone. Any recommendations I should check out? Need something less than $1000
  2. FBS1996

FBS1996

Well, "good tone" is extremely vague. My idea of a fantastic tone could be someone else's idea of complete garbage. What music do you play?
  3. Wannaflea

Wannaflea

Help TB help you man, as much detail as you can write about
  4. IntrepidCellist

IntrepidCellist Supporting Member

Schecter Stiletto Studio 5. Play a few and find one that has the weight you like. Solid electronics, great build quality, good low Bs, and excellent tone and consistency. The only variance is the weight; there are some light ones, and some real boat anchors.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SteveC

SteveC

7. redcloud

redcloud

Carvin should be a place to look.
  8. metallicafan18

metallicafan18

Look for a used Spector Euro 5. Check the classifieds
  9. bassbenj

bassbenj

I'm sure if we took a poll here the the majority would agree that a Fender P-Bass, 5 string, American, with Flats and Tort pickguard is by far the BEST bass made. In fact, if it doesn't say Fender on it it really isn't a "real" bass at all!

Price new is about $1300, so to meet your "under $1000" you'll need to look around used.

(Of course to really be "best" it would have to only have 4 strings, but you did say you just "prefer" a 5 string)

Simple. Next question? :rolleyes:
  10. RobertUI

RobertUI Thumper Supporting Member

Go to a store and play a TON of instruments. Find one that you like, and then look on the web to find one USED. There are SO many instruments to be had here on TB that you can do VERY well for under 1K. I have been playing semi-professionally for over 20 years, and have only spent over 1K on just a couple instruments (and I've owned over 75).