1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Best Gig Bag for a Fender Custom Shop 5 String Jazz Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by swpyne, Aug 31, 2013.

1. swpyne

swpyne Basses R Loaded! Gold Supporting Member

I have been using ProTec Contego bags (I have two) for several years and they have met my needs quite well.

I just got a Fender Custom Shop 5 String Jazz Bass and I find that the headstock is too big to fit properly in the ProTec Contego Bag. The size of the headstock and the length of the tuners make it a VERY tight fit. Basically I have to force it in and I don't want to have to do that.

Anyone out there have a suggestion as to which gig bag would be the better choice for one of these Custom Shop Jazz Basses?

Obviously I'm not looking at low end bags and I do want something similar to the Contego as far as pockets and storage space goes.

Any ideas?
  2. Bassflute

Bassflute

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: MTD basses and strings
    I have a 6 string Fender Jazz (Steve Bailey) and it fits no problem.

Cheers,
    Cameron
  3. austentaciousC

austentaciousC

Congrats on your Fender, im slapping the hell out of mine right now. Even the new standard/deluxe non custom shop jazz basses are beyond the old custom shop line IMO
  4. swpyne