Best Music College

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ndthorpe1, Jan 12, 2014.

1. ndthorpe1

ndthorpe1

Try your best to refrain from jokes/ insults here:

I'm a 15 year old bassist, I practice 6 hours a day, I'm probably on the higher side of intermediate (Dream Theater, Mr. Bungle,etc) and I've been playing for two years. My goal here is to go to music college and become a session musician. I get straight A's and the occasional B at school, taking honors and AP classes. So I ask you these questions:

what is a good music school to be a session bassist?

How hard is it to get into that school?

How hard is it to get a scholarship to that school?

What can I do to make a more successful career playing music?

Thanks in advance for answers, and please try not to joke about low pay/ insult me for wanting to pursue the "rock star" career. :bassist:

2. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Roy Vogt is on here sometimes, he can tell you about Belmont here in Nashville.

3. Reddog01

Reddog01

The University of North Texas. One of the best jazz programs in the country.

davidhilton and BassChuck like this.
  4. chrisrod9

chrisrod9

I've been researching this for my son lately. He's only in 7th grade right now but it's never too early to get up to speed.

I have found the following list to be very comprehensive. I wouldn't (I don't) get overly caught up in the specifics of the rankings. I look at which schools are the best overall schools regardless of music. Juliard is it's own deal. Takes a special someone to go there. We are most interested in USC, UCLA, Yale, and Vanderbilt. All are excellent universities that happen to have top-tier music programs. I'd give the nod to USC and UCLA first due to their location in Los Angeles where the music industry has the largest presence. Vanderbilt would be second due to its location in the music industry mecca of Nashville.

http://music-schools.findthebest.com/