Best Octave Pedal to Get Low B up to E- on a Four String Bass

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by tedw, Nov 11, 2012.

1. tedw

tedw Gold Supporting Member

I'm new to octave effects and would appreciate some input.

I prefer four string basses but occasionally need to play lower notes (B up to E-). I went to a bass clinic with a pro this weekend and he suggested using the octave effect to get the lower notes. He demonstrated it, and I seems like a pretty slick idea.

Based on your experience, I'm interested in learning what octave pedeals you feel would work best for this application.

Thanks,

Ted
  2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

The best sounding octave down fx, imo, are all analog. However, none of these will track well below a normal low A. So, you'll need a digital octaver, like a Micro POG to do what you want.
  3. Lemon Of Troy

Lemon Of Troy Banned

Agreed. I couldn't stand the sound of the POG, though.

The Aguilar Octamizer and MXR Bass Octave sound much better, but like Boogie said, they don't track well on the bottom strings. But I find that with my Octamizer, if I play the E/B higher on the neck it does fine. Especally if you don't need to hold the notes.
  4. HaVIC5

HaVIC5

I think what OP meant was low B up to Eb, the pitches afforded by a 5-string. In this case, most octavers will do just fine. Analog octavers would be a little glitchier, but almost all of them will handle a B, in my experience.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JonnyAngle

JonnyAngle Supporting Member

7. topo morto

topo morto

Do you need the G-string? have you considered going BEAD?
  8. yaksonator

yaksonator Supporting Member

Octron by foxrox.
  9. tedw

Thanks HaVIC5, you interpreted my question correctly. Sorry for my lack of clarity.

I stumbled into an EH Micro Pog and actually like the effect, but the lower notes (B to E- on the A string) sound too effected (like an organ) to me.