1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Best small low volume bass combo - which?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by KF2B, Jan 29, 2013.

1. KF2B

KF2B

Greetings,

complete newbie here (and with bass) so be gentle :help:

:D

So... Just began my path as a bass player and thus looking for a combo that would suit my needs:

- I can not play loud due to my living accommodations so I have no need for sheer power nor extra punch on the low notes - what I want instead is finesse on very low levels.
    - I am not interested on paying extra for brand name but am willing to pay extra for quality of both sound on low levels + quality of manufacture (with or without brand name).
    - I want minimum fuss so looking for a combo rather than separates....
    - ...and have no ill will towards solid state, hybrid nor pure tube design as long as I get the sound, quality of manufacture and no fuss.
    - Knowing myself as the old geek that I am I have no use for sound tweaking attributes - that means that the more Spartan the device, the more likely it will be what I am looking for....
    - and last but not least, I need to be able to source one in Europe (CE regulations) and the smaller the thing the merrier!.

So far I´ve looked at stuff like the Phil Jones Briefcase, Orange tb500c and V8 T.A.N.K 20W Mobile (guitar amp but hey, it´s here to give you an idea) ; of which the Orange is probably the best but also the biggest which is a no-no as space is really tight...:bawl:

Any ideas what I should be looking at?

Thanks,

J.

2. freu

freu

I realy like this little combo from EBS.
    Very small and you can play with low volume but with big sound.

I use one of this combo from Roland.
    Small enough for me to put it on my desktop. With closed doors nobody in my house must hear my bass-adventures.