Best speaker Cables for TUBE amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by mydog213, Jul 17, 2012.

1. mydog213

mydog213

Recently bought a tube amp, I have been learning an incredible amount of information through you guys, and wanted to say thank you for that.

BUT point of this is to answer the following questions:
    1) What is the best Speaker cable to use for a tube amp?
    2) I have a Ampeg SVT CL, when hooking the amp to the cabinet(610HLF CL) is there any precautions I should take into account?
    3) I have a Speakon connector to a 1/4 Jack speaker cable(see picture), Is this fine? Or should I get Speakon connector to Speak on connector?

Obviously I am a noob at this stuff, but I need to be careful with my investment

Attached Files:

2. Lo-E

Lo-E

What you have is fine.

The only thing you need to consider is: Never - EVER - run a tube amp without a speaker connected to it. It can, potentially, do some very expensive damage to the amp.

Other than that, don't worry too much about it. Any decent quality, heavy-duty speaker cable will be just fine.

3. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

While the speakon to 1/4 cable will work, you probably should just go ahead and use a speakon/speakon cable.

They are far superior to 1/4 jacks, and will not pull out of your cab/head due to accident, vibrations, etc.

4. wmheilma

wmheilma

Yes. Expensive was about $300 for me when I got my first tube amp back around 1997. I ran it with a 32 Ohm load. (It was a single speaker that was a spare for a bigger cab.) This was fine for my rack rig with Crown PSA-2 power section, but the tube amp backfired and toasted some KT-88's.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

I'd get a speakon to speakon, especially with a tube amp, as mentioned earlier, if you run that without a cab it will cook itself within minutes.