best strings for hofner violin bass

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by skinzz, Aug 9, 2008.

1. skinzz

skinzz

hi im new to bass guitars, just bought a hofner hct 500/1 violin bass for £380 and was wondering which would be the best strings and which grade to get the best vintage sound from the guitar, im not sure what strings it has on it when it came from the factory, and also what grade and how long before i would have to change the strings

2. Thunderthumbs73

Thunderthumbs73

I believe you're looking for absolute answers in areas where there are very few, if any. Sorry to say.

As with a lot of "bests" this is going to be matter of a lot of personal preference and experimentation to the point where there is really no "best" and the only "best" it can be is what's "best for you."

The Hofner bass already has a vintage sound to it, insofar as it's not a design that is modern/high-tech like some Sadowsky, Zon and other basses. Players have used both roundwound strings, halfwound strings and also flatwound strings on these basses. All of these types are good. None of these string types is going to turn this bass into a high-tech sounding, non-vintage sounding bass. That's about the only absolute here, that I can imagine.

I don't know what strings this bass came with, but more importantly, if you like the tone, then it's good. Keep the strings. When they don't sound good to your ear, take them off. But keep them. Don't cut them off your bass. Pull them out of the back of the bridge and save them for later in case you don't like the new strings you bought, or your taste in tone changes, you'll have the old strings to go back to.

The intervals for string changing depends on your preference in the sound of the string to a large extent, though at some point it may be best to change the strings even if you never want to.