1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Best strings for punchy midrange?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by albioncalling, Feb 24, 2014.

1. albioncalling

albioncalling

Salutations chaps,

I've been playing bass properly for about 5-6 years but i'm afraid I've committed that cardinal sin of only changing strings as they break, which means I have relatively little experience with different brands of strings. My band has a series of club shows coming up and as my current strings are getting along a bit I've decided its probably best I get a new set. I'm beginning to get to a stage in my playing where I've started to experiment with my tone so i've gotten to thinking that I should experiment with some other string brands to try and find the best ones for me, as i'm changing them anyway (in for a penny etc).

I'm looking for a punchy midrange tone really, something that can be cranked loud and have the ability to cut through. I have a Fender Standard Mexican Precision Bass with standard gear and a maple board. I know this should be quite punchy already but anything to help it along would be great. I play a mixture of classic rock and British Indie or Britpop (boo hiss) using a mixture or picking and slap. A good example of the tone im going for is something like Andy Rourke from The Smiths, for example on tracks like "William It Was Really Nothing" if that makes sense?