best video lessons for Upright bass

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by cuatro_cuerdas, Jan 18, 2013.

1. cuatro_cuerdas

cuatro_cuerdas

Hi,

I am a newbie with the upright and I need some lessons, I know a face to face teacher is the best way, but I want to check if there is some DVD/video lessons that I can buy to study by myself? can some of you TB'er recommend me a good video for lessons, if the focus of the video is more in jazz is better.

I would apreciate some advice.

Cheers.

2. MostlyBass

MostlyBass Supporting Member

I don't have a curriculum of lesson videos up but I do have lots of info and some videos of technique on my site at http://www.MostlyBass.com

3. cuatro_cuerdas

cuatro_cuerdas

Thanks MostlyBass I will check your site later.

4. MostlyBass

MostlyBass Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jdepriest

jdepriest

First, get a teacher, get a teacher, get a teacher. Face to Face with a qualified teacher will save you lots of time and pain.

There are SOME good YouTube videos out there. Run screaming from anything on YouTube posted by Expert Village. They are ALL horribly, bad, awful, pieces of crap. following their advise will cause you nothing but pain.

John Clayton has a great series.
    http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQJTuKZ513s2tB6lyacbUjw?feature=watch

Chris Fitzgerald has started a series that is really good.
    http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCy-qgQuCQfdLzz_VztMY-Vw/videos

Michael Klinghoffer has a series based on Gary Karr's teachings
    http://www.youtube.com/user/driveadoublebass?feature=watch

But seriously, get a teacher!

7. bassist1962

bassist1962

All on You Tube:

John Clayton's Bass Tips

Michael Klinghoffer's Drive a Doublebass series

Chris Fitzgerald's series

Daddario Bowed series

Bill Harrison's Play Jazz Now series

Best to get a teacher

8. cuatro_cuerdas

cuatro_cuerdas