1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

BEST WAY TO MASTER FRETBOARD NOTES

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Clark Westfield, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Clark Westfield

Clark Westfield Floyd Pepper is my mentor!

I have been playing for almost 2 years and still have some issues mastering where the fretboard notes are.

What is the best way to really lock down memorizing where the notes are without pausing and thinking?

Any excercises or tricks?

My buddy has something on his IPad that is pretty cool.

Now I have to get one of those IPads.

2. Sni77

Sni77

Reading sheet music, a lot, would help.

3. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

Well, there's always playing yer butt off. But one "trick," if you will, is to work a simple progression with arpeggiated chords. Take a simple I IV V (such as G C D7) and start on low G, and play the full chords (GMaj7 CMaj7 D7) up and down the neck. Just go to the next chord tone from wherever you leave off from the previous chord:

Ascending:
    |G B D F# | G B C E | F# A C D |
    Descending from high D:
    |B G F# D | C B G E | D C A F#| G

Then do it in Ab. Then A...

Another approach is to play diatonic diads in root position and in first and second inversion. I'll type that in later! My first exercise should keep you going for a day or two.

4. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

Way back when I first started, I taped a few pieces of paper together and drew the neck and notes. I pinned it to my wall and looked at it as I practiced. I kept it up there for a few months and practiced a lot. As you become more proficient, you'll find the actual note names don't matter as much as recognizing the intervals. But you still need to know the names of the notes.

7. Rockin Mike