Better fretting

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ITucker_034I, Feb 2, 2014.

1. ITucker_034I

ITucker_034I

Hey guys. I recently downloaded some free software allowing me to record myself, after playing around for a while I realised that about half the time my playing was causing the frets to buzz or adding other noise in like the swoosh the when you change fret with the same finger (bad description I know).

Anyway Im fairly certain its down to my technique so I was wondering if there any ways to fret better or any tips. Im fairly new to fingerstyle, so most of the 2 and a half years ive been playing I've done so with a pick. Just got an MIA jazz bass btw, and it plays great so thats not the problem (its twice as bad playing on my thunderbird).
  2. Mushroo

Mushroo

Interesting question!

First, do you have a teacher that can look at your hands and tell you what you're doing right/wrong? That's a good place to start. :) Without actually seeing your hands, I would say, make sure your left-hand fingers are pressing down close to the fret (instead of halfway between the frets), get your bass properly setup, and if you really have zero tolerance for string noise, flatwound strings will be a big help.

Second, are you playing all by yourself, or with a band? Most bass players find that, when they play in a band, the finger/fret noise actually sounds pretty good in the mix. If you go on Youtube and listen to isolated bass tracks of pro's like John Entwhistle, Flea, Jason Newstead, Robert Trujillo, etc. you might feel a little better about having fret/string noise in your own playing. There are plenty of #1 smash hit gold records that are larded with fret/string noise. :)
  3. ITucker_034I

ITucker_034I

I had a suspicion flatwounds might help, are they any good on a jazz though? I have no idea about strings. And yeah, I play a bit in a band, I dont tend to notice then, but Im trying to perfect my technique at home and it was all I could hear
  4. Mushroo