Bluegrass bass arco?

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by Smarsh7903, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Smarsh7903

Smarsh7903

I started playing the upright with my father's band when I was about 16. I am 24 now and live all the way across the country from where I grew up, and I have my own group of folks that I play with now. I love bluegrass, traditional and new, and lately I feel like I am hitting a slump. I thought it would be exciting to get a bow for my bass and learn some arco techniques for some of the slower songs or funky songs that we do. I did a google search for bluegrass bass players that do some bowing, but to no avail! I know that I am not the only one to have this idea. I did find a band, the Hot Buttered Rum String Band, which features a cello. They are super good, but I want to know why no one has tried this or to find some music that features this. What are your thoughts about integrating some bow style bass playing in bluegrass? I have mostly been a die-hard traditionalist for my whole life, but in the past year or two I have started to experiment with my techniques. Is this a bad idea or a waste of time for something that I have not foreseen?
  2. longfinger

longfinger

Edgar Meyer does this..

You'll be able to do this in 2 weeks! ;-)
  3. brianrost

brianrost Supporting Member

Listen to some "old time" (pre bluegrass) music. You will hear bowed bass, sometimes cello is used to play the bass line! But it is nothing fancy, playing football roots since root/five was a new fangled idea in the 1920s and 1930s! You could also check out early jazz bands before walking bass lines existed, again you'll hear football roots or root-five.

Edgar Meyer plays arco but what he plays is just barely on the fringe of bluegrass. I'd actually call it "modern American improvised string band music"...it sure aint Bill Monroe style!

In other words, arco playing will not fit in with traditional bluegrass but for a modern band that's stretching the style, go ahead.