Bored

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AnthonyAdkins, Mar 5, 2014.

1. AnthonyAdkins

AnthonyAdkins Supporting Member

Hey all...

I've been playing for about 11-12 years. I am pretty fluent with music theory, and can play fairly well with whatever. I AM self taught, but I have kind of...plateaued? I'm bored with my playing lately, and I kind of am looking for some direction. Any thoughts? I'm super comfortable with most scales...I understand chord breakdowns...Just looking for something neat to start working on.

Opinions?!
  2. Groove Master

Groove Master

I think it is time to play music, join a band and have fun with the bass :)

Bass is the coolest instrument ever. Take advantage of it and make it GROOVE
  3. atomicdog

atomicdog Supporting Member

definitely, find a drummer and start a band
  4. Bingo

Bingo

Learn some music you would never ever listen too. You need to get out of your comfort zone. Just Google a genre you have never taken an interest in before. Immerse yourself in it for a while. You will be a better player and learn something from the experience. If you get bored with that, pick another genre. You can't possibly know how to play every kind of music on the bass even if you try my tip for the rest of your life. But you have to be bold and patient at the same time. Don't pick the kind of music that is your comfort zone's "next door neighbor". Go nuts. Get far away from your favorite music.

If you have always been a rock guy, get into melodic jazz.

If you are a jazz guy, try some metal.

If you don't play funk and soul, and you are a bass player, you are truly missing out on the good stuff (and that's coming from a guy who plays mostly rock, blues, and country these days).