1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Boss LS-2 Pedal questions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassnyc1, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. bassnyc1

    bassnyc1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I'm considering this pedal but I'm not sure if it does what I'm looking to do. Basically, I want to use it with my VT Bass pedal and blend my bass's dry signal with the VT and send that to the amp.

    Is this possible? If so, how would I connect it? I have done a lot of searching on this pedal and have downloaded the manual and read it many times. I'm kind of a dummy with anything other than bass into amp so if anyone can offer advice, It would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
  2. pantherairsoft

    pantherairsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe, GigRig, COG Effects
    Yes.

    Put the VT on one loop and nothing in the other (when nothing's in the loop it connects input to output). Set the pedal to the AB Mix mode. Done! The 2 knobs on the LS-2 will set the gain of the 2 loops (VT and Clean).

    Shep
  3. metaball

    metaball

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the tip, i have one on the way.
    [​IMG]
    i'll be using mine to stack a couple dirt pedals, nice to know there are other options with it.
  4. henryjurstin13

    henryjurstin13 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download the manual, this lil guy is an extremely versatile tool...
  5. yaksonator

    yaksonator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1
    +100
  6. bassnyc1

    bassnyc1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help, pantherairsoft! I'm now off the fence and I'll be ordering one today!

    So, how many cables (patch chords) will I need?
  7. pedrodelawasp

    pedrodelawasp

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    and again
  8. pantherairsoft

    pantherairsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe, GigRig, COG Effects
    You'll need 2 cables for the VT (assuming nothing else goes in the loop with it) and then your usual connections. So...

    Each '->' is a cable/patch lead...

    Bass -> Input of LS2
    LS2 Loop 1 Send -> Input of VT
    Output of VT -> LS2 Loop 1 Return
    LS2 Loop 2 left empty
    Output of LS2 -> Amp

    As mentioned, read the manual... It explains a lot. For ease, here it is...
    http://media.rolandus.com/manuals/LS-2_OM.pdf

    This application guide is also good for ideas...
    http://media.rolandus.com/manuals/LS-2_AD.pdf
  9. pedrodelawasp

    pedrodelawasp

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    To blend a dirt with your clean using the LS-2, you'll need 2 patch cables to create Loop A (from LS-2 SEND A to Dirt IN, then Dirt OUT to LS-2 RETURN A).

    Then, obviously, run your signal from the bass to the main Input on the LS-2 and one from the Out to the amp (or the next pedal in your chain).
  10. pedrodelawasp

    pedrodelawasp

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pantherairsoft replied before me, and his description is a bit cleaner and easier to read than mine!
  11. bassnyc1

    bassnyc1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again everyone. This helps a lot.
  12. Nno Mar

    Nno Mar

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, I play bass in a band, but also baritone guitar in some songs. When I play the guitar, I'd like to use the same FXs, but a different amp.

    Would it be possible to do this with an LS??

    I think the chain would go

    bass on return A
    Baritone Guitar on return B
    output to pedalboard
    end of pedalboard to input
    send A to Bass amp
    send B to Guitar amp

    Would this work?
  13. cheapbasslovin

    cheapbasslovin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I believe it would. If you run it in A<>B mode that should work perfectly.
  14. Nno Mar

    Nno Mar

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!
  15. cheapbasslovin

    cheapbasslovin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't actually own a LS2. I am confident the routing will work, but on further reflection it's possible that the LS2 won't switch both the sends and returns. If you can confirm that it does it will work fine.
  16. spufman

    spufman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    The LS-2 will do the 2 guitar/amp thing, yes. It's such a cool pedal. It's indispensable with my looper, where I can route 3 inputs, match their levels (well, match 2 to the 1 straight input) and switch among them into the looper. Fun!

Share This Page