Boss ODB-3 and farting speaker

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Ipek, Nov 9, 2012.

1. Ipek

Ipek

Hi all,
    I may have a problem with my odb-3, or speaker, not sure.
    Maybe its not problem at all.
    I use EBS classic session 120 combo and when playing clean or with my chorus pedal it sounds wonderful.
    However with odb-3 I have some issues.
    If I only turn the gain know above 9-10 o'clock (on the pedal) the speaker starts to fart.
    I have found a few ways to avoid this issue.
    If I cut the bass on guitar eq (preamp?) there is no more farting.
    I can then turn bass knob on amp all the way up to get low end back and it sounds nice, no farting.
    Same story if I cut low mids in preamp, no more farting.
    Turning down volume on my bass also seams to work but I have to turn it really low (and it somehow changes how odb-3 sounds, I have to turn the knobs on pedal much more to get same lvl of distortion).

I'm total noob when it comes to technical stuff, but as for me it sounds, like the odb-3 can't handle signal from my bass and generates this farting unless I just cut down the signal from my bass (or leave the gain knob in pedal at low levels).

So the question is, should I by worried at all?
    Or just use the knobs and live with it?

And sorry for my English, I hope its understandable ;)
  2. Epitaph04

Epitaph04 Supporting Member

Im sorry but your thread title made me LOL.
  3. father of fires

father of fires Supporting Member

Might be too much low end making the speakers fart or it is could be too much lows hitting the pedal. There's no way to know for sure. But turn the knobs how you need to get the sound syou want.
  4. dukeisdog

dukeisdog Supporting Member

+1