1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Bought a new Engelhart and think I want to upgrade my strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by soho192, Jan 16, 2014.

1. soho192

soho192

So first off I'm a beginner to upright. I've had some issues getting my low E sounding good or even making sound at all. I figured I would go try out some bows. I got 2 low end used bows from A440 in Chicago. I also played some amazing basses and was blown away by how easy they played with those bows. I was excited to try them out at home and the bows didn't work any better than the one I'm borrowing from my instructor.

I know part of this is the bass, but I'd imagine the hair/string relationship impacts play-ability a lot.

1. What are you using the bass for?

Taking acro lessons, but I'll be playing blue grass so I'm going to say 50/50 acro/pizz.

2. What kind of sound are you looking for (bright, dark, long sustain, thumpy, gut-like, etc.).

looking for play-ability with arco, but would like a good dark sound.

3. What kind of feel are you looking for (high/low tension, thick/thin gauge, etc.)

I use middle of the road strings on my electric. I believe they are still hybrid slinky (think GD and thinner EA)

4. What strings have you used in the past and what did you like/dislike about them (If you don't know what was on your old bass, try to find out what strings they were by providing the silk colors at both ends).

I currently have super something strings... I forget, but I'd imagine they are these since they have super in the name and are red.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Super-S...4-Size-Double-Bass-Strings-483658-i1438346.gc