Bow advice for an intermediate player

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by ethnotime, Aug 17, 2013.

1. ethnotime

ethnotime

Greetings,

A little background: I've been playing bass for twenty years, but entirely in a jazz context. I started late so I was never comfortable with the bow. However I never neglected it and have been practicing on and off. These days it's been on and I'd like to be a little more serious about it and would like to upgrade from my carbon fiber Finale bow to a good wood bow.

Now I'm not sure what kind of bow to get. From reading posts here I was thinking that $1000-range would be a good starting point, specifically Raposo bows. But lately I've started to think that maybe I should invest a little more. That said, what's a good price range for decent bows. Is there a larger selection at a certain price range?

I guess it's mostly a matter of trying bows out but there is not a lot of bow selection where I live so I don't have much to go on. I'll be heading to NY next week to check out some bows, but I figure I should come fully educated before trying some out.

To get an idea of my level, I can slog through the first movement of the Dittersdorf concerto, not at tempo but it's a reachable goal.

2. MikeCanada

MikeCanada

French or German?

At $1000 with some room, you are right on the edge of the factory/shop made bows and modern handmade bows. Adding to your budget is often encouraged, but you don't really open up a lot of the handmade market until you hit $2000-3000. You might find something older too, which is often a great option.