Bow hair cleaning

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by mikejdexter, Jan 1, 2014.

1. mikejdexter

mikejdexter

I am fairly new to bowing so any advise would be most helpful.

Do you clean your bow hair?
    If so, how often?
    What do you use to clean the hair?

Many thanks.

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    I just cleaned a kids bow that was badly corrupted with black finger gunk. Granted, I'm not an archier, so this should be treated with the typical skepticism about homegrown methods, but it was recommended to me:

I used pure 100% isopropanol. Heed all of the cautionary labeling on isopropanol. Arranged the bow so that the hair is always beneath the stick -- no chance to get alcohol on the stick. I put a heavy book on a shelf, and the stick under the book, so the tip was pointing out into the room with the hair hanging down. This meant I didn't have to wrangle with the stick while also dealing with the hair.

Cleaned the hair with a toothbrush that I would continually dip into the isopropanol. At some point I decided that there was no rosin left on the hair. I patted the hair dry with paper towel, then combed back and forth with the toothbrush as the hair dried further.

I don't know of any other reason to clean bow hair, and it was a last resort before replacing a bow that probably wasn't worth re-hairing. And I practiced on an outgrown kids bow to test the method first.

3. dfp

dfp Supporting Member

maybe once, maybe twice between rehairs i will loosen the bow until the frog is off, dip the hair in a sink full of warm water, scrub w/ a toothbrush and/or fingers and a gentle shampoo. rinse, repeat as needed if rosin was really heavy. dry as you would your own hair. it's kinda a juggling act keeping the stick and frog out of the sink, but that's also part of the fun, right?

4. MikeCanada

MikeCanada