Breaking down I'll Take You There theoretically

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Justbleazy, Oct 23, 2013.

1. Justbleazy

Justbleazy

I've been playing bass for 4 years now and I want to take my bass playing to the next level. I'll Take You There by the Staple Singers was one of the first songs I learned to play and I want to start simple in learning some theory before I get into more advanced songs I know how to play.

Anyway, I've typed this up to start breaking songs down theoretically. Please let me know if I'm on the right path. Thanks!

The main part of the song consists of two chords in the key of C, C Major and F Major.

The notes in the 2 chords listed above.
    C Major - C -E -G
    I - III –V
    F Major – F A C
    I – III – V

The bass notes of the song. I typed this away from my bass :bag:
    C – C – G – A – C – A – G – F – F – G – A – C –A (C)
    I – I - V – VI – I – VI – V – IV – IV- V- VI – I – VI (I)

Scales I can use while playing the song:
    C Major Scale – C –D – E –F –G –A –B –C (Ionian Mode)
    F Major Scales – F - G –A – Bb/A# – C – D –E –F (Lydian Mode)

Notes I must play: C - _ - _ - F – G – A - _ - C
    Notes I can choose to play: “D” – “E” - “B” – “Bb”
    The notes I can choose to play are only for fills so I’m not being repetitive.

Thanks again for the help!!
  2. bass12

bass12 Fueled by chocolate Supporting Member

*Whispers* - "it's the Staple Singers". ;)
  3. onlyclave

onlyclave

Just so you know, music theory is giving names to sounds we are familiar with. It's analysis. That being said, this statement "C Major - C -E -G