'Breaking Into Doing Youtube Videos'

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by mustBmtd, Jan 7, 2014.

1. mustBmtd

mustBmtd

Never done this before, Don't even know what all I will need. Outside of the bass I'd be using laptop, and Amp gear. Other than that I have no clue. It's all new to me. Any guys out there willing to help me get going. It would be a big help to me. :bassist: :help:

2. mpdd

mpdd neoconceptualist Gold Supporting Member

if you have a mac try final cut pro x and a video camera that generates compatible files, the mac should have garage band which with a di and interface is a pretty useful audio tool

3. ManuelJG

ManuelJG

I'm new to this too, right now I'm using my iPhone to capture the video and I record the audio with my interface, then match it using iMovie.
    The hardest part was learning to use iMovie, once I sorted that out, everything became easier...
    I recorded this one today:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nl2mDlIS974

4. Bongolation

Bongolation

I really, really, really want to do clever videos for my music, but I'm having a terrible time finding good discussion forums to help with this complex technical stuff.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

There is no easy "quick" way to produce a quality music video for YouTube. There are two aspects to this task: sound and video.

First you need to bone up on recording good audio. In most cases it will simply require capturing the sound of your bass with a DI, but if you are demonstrating the sound of cabs, you'll need to become good with capturing mic'd sound. You'll need audio processing software to honing the sound. I prefer Presonus Studio One, but there are a lot of options here.