Bridge Question...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by DaRQsiDe, Jan 12, 2013.

1. DaRQsiDe

DaRQsiDe

Hi everyone,

I would like to replace the old bridge on my bass. The old bridge doesn't lock the ball-part of the string, the string passes through the bass and balls get stuck inside the bass itself. I don't know if this is advantageous, but having a bass that is defretted and xl scale from the get-go, it becomes extremely hard to find flatwound strings that will fit the bass (Now using NS design strings for their uprights, which doesn't feel right...)

I was looking at the Hipshot A-style bridges (looks economical) but I am not sure if this bridge holds the ball part of the string.

I am open to suggestions...

2. jesusrocksbass

jesusrocksbass Supporting Member

I have a Hipshot A style on my jaguar and I do love the sound however it took quite awhile to set up and tweak. I am a rookie at it but, it normally doesn't take me that long.

I don't think you can ever go wrong BAII.

3. DaRQsiDe

DaRQsiDe

Main question is that my current bridge doesn't hold the ball end of the strings (so I think it's called "string through body"). I am needing a bridge which will hold the ball end of the string - allows me to "string through bridge".

I hope I got the nomenclature right and it's more clear :)

4. jesusrocksbass

jesusrocksbass Supporting Member

Both the Hipshot A style and BAII do that. They do not string through the body of the bass.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Rocky McD

Rocky McD Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Builder,mcdcustomguitars
    You need to replace the damaged string thru ferrule in the body.

7. DaRQsiDe

DaRQsiDe