Bridge/strings ground

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by subdude67, Nov 27, 2012.

1. subdude67

subdude67

grounded bridge and strings, i read a lot about how it MUST be done with passive basses and not with active, i understand that the grounded bridge could potentially lead to an electric shock,yet without it there will be noise and hum so it has to be there. but.......

....i have recently converted my 5 stringer from active to passive and without a grounded bridge it is dead quiet. i am of course very happy about having an instrument with no hum or buzz but i am also a bit perplexed as to what the story really is with the grounding.

any thoughts are appreciated.
  2. slngd

slngd

I am no expert, but i doubt that a 9V electric shock would be that big of a deal.
  3. Smilodon

Smilodon Supporting Member

Grounding the bridge is a preventive thing. You could get buzz in a noisy environment. It can be dead quiet when you are at home, but if you go to a gig it could buzz really badly.

It's not the battery that can give you a shock. It's the voltages built up by differences in ground potential or electrostatic shocks.
  4. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Back in the late 70s or early 80s Guitar Player Magazine had an article that recommended putting a capacitor in series with the bridge ground. The idea was that the cap would prevent shocks by blocking 60 Hz AC, but still pass higher frequency EMI "noise" to ground.

Any comments on this?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. onda'bass

onda'bass Supporting Member

just do the ground, might save your life.....just saying
  7. subdude67

subdude67

isn't it actually safer NOT to be connected to the circuit with regards of a potential electrocution?

what good is a bridge ground anyway if, like in my case, nylon tapewound strings are used?

thanks for taking time
  8. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Yes.